Thursday, July 19, 2018

Loon Beach II - gouache 5x7


Gouache on mixed media paper, matted to fit an 8x10 frame

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Loon Beach - gouache

Really tried to keep it loose with this one...

Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7 inches, matted to fit an 8x10 frame






Tuesday, July 17, 2018

View from SBCC - gouache 5x7

 Another piece from that same night, seriously, could not handle the views...


Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7, matted to fit an 8x10 frame


Monday, July 16, 2018

Santa Barbara Hills - 5x7 gouache

Currently my favorite piece in the studio.  We took the kids to a movie in the park up at city college, and the view was just incredible. 

Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7, matted to fit an 8x10 frame



Friday, July 13, 2018

Island Greens - Gouache 5x7


Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7, matted to fit an 8x10 frame




Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Green Field - Gouache 5x7


Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7 inches, matted to fit an 8x10 frame


Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Cliffs at Sunrise - Gouache



Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7 inches, matted to fit an 8x10 frame


Monday, July 9, 2018

Sunflowers - Gouache


Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7 inches




Sunday, July 8, 2018

Friday, July 6, 2018

Nocturne - 6x12

It's been a while since I've painted a nocturne, always a fun exercise!

Oil on linen panel, 6x12 inches

Thursday, July 5, 2018

Carpinteria Tracks and Clouds - 6x6

Sunset on the bluffs make all the colors amazing...

Oil on panel, 6x6 inches

Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Miramar Beach - 8x16

Nine AM and an empty beach...

Oil on canvas panel, 8x16 inches

Monday, July 2, 2018

Stearns Wharf - gouache

A quick study, just because I love the color of the water...

Gouache on watercolor paper, 5x7 


Friday, June 29, 2018

Seagull - gouache 5x7

Changing up the subject matter a little bit...

Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7 

Thursday, June 28, 2018

Carpinteria Lines - 5x7

Our mountains in the early morning and late afternoon are just to die for...

Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7 


Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Clouds - 5x7

I feel like I'm constantly trying out new techniques with the gouache, there isn't enough time in the day to explore it all! With this piece I was trying to paint more transparently, building up layers. It's a tricky thing to do with gouache because I'm finding that it can get muddy pretty easily. 

Gouache on watercolor paper, 5x7 

Monday, June 25, 2018

Bluffs with Tracks and Green - gouache

I feel like I could paint here all day every day. 


Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7
Matted to fit an 8x10 frame

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Waves - 5x7

This white paper makes it SO hard to get an accurate photo of the painting, I'm not quite sure why...
Gouache on watercolor paper, 5x7 inches
Sold

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Dolphin Fountain Santa Barbara - 5x7



Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7, matted to fit an 8x10 frame




Monday, June 18, 2018

Carpinteria Bluffs - 5x7


Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7 inches
Sold

Sunday, June 17, 2018

Salt Marsh Path, Early Morning - 5x7


Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7 
matted to fit an 8x10 frame

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Holiday at the Beach - 5x7


Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7, matted to fit an 8x10 frame




Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Miramar - gouache



Gouache on mixed media paper, 4x6 


Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Carpinteria Creek Outlet - 16x20

Worked this piece from an old reference photo I have, I'm sure it looks much different now after the fire and rains...

Oil on canvas, 16x20

Monday, June 11, 2018

Carpinteria Salt Marsh - gouache

This one got snatched up pretty quick at the studio tour.  I like it so much, planning to do a version in oil pretty soon. 

Gouache mixed media paper, 5x7 
SOLD



Friday, June 8, 2018

Carp Beach 5/5/18 - gouache


Gouache on mixed media paper, 4x6
SOLD

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Poles - gouache on mixed media paper

Sunset light on these poles always gets me...

Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7
SOLD


Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Padaro Lane Beach House - gouache

Afternoon sun was finally breaking through the clouds, making this structure look extra dramatic...

gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7


Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Storm Clouds over Carpinteria - 18x24

These clouds started dropping snow on the tops of the mountains while I there, it was such a crazy sight. 

Oil on canvas, 18x24

Monday, June 4, 2018

"20 Stroke Landscape" Summerland - gouache

The real challenge with this wasn't in only using 20 strokes, but in only using 20 shades of color 

Gouache on mixed media paper, 4x6
SOLD


Friday, June 1, 2018

Sunset in Carpinteria - 8x10

I'm really loving how this one turned out, there's a time lapse of it on my facebook page and insta feed. 

Oil on canvas panel, 8x10

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Bluffs and Beach - 6x6

I love the way the light hits these outcroppings in the sand...

Oil on panel, 6x6 
SOLD

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Did you know?


Did you know I have an instagram? I do! It's where you can see what I'm working on throughout the day (not just when it's posted for sale).  Sometimes there are time lapse videos of my paintings, and also progress shots in the stories. Find me @sharon_schock_art 😊

Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Summerland - gouache

It was a challenge fitting so much in this little 4x6 painting, but there was so much that was inspiring, I couldn't cut it out. 

Gouache on watercolor paper, 4x6 
SOLD



Monday, May 28, 2018

Summerland Daisies - gouache

I'm having so much fun this year with all these spring flowers popping up. 

Gouache on watercolor paper, 4x6
SOLD

Friday, May 25, 2018

Wet Sand - gouache

The texture of this heavy cold press paper adds a lot to this little piece I think...

Gouache on watercolor paper, 3x5

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Summerland Beach experiment

The results of a recent experiment, toned mixed media paper (top) versus white watercolor paper (bottom). 

gouache on gray toned mixed media paper, 5x7


gouache on cold press watercolor paper, 5x7


Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Tracks on the Bluffs - gouache, 4x6

Happy that the bright colors stayed bright in this one, gouache gets darker as it dries, something I'm not used to while working in oil. 

Gouache on mixed media paper, 4x6
SOLD

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Clouds over Carpinteria Beach - Gouache

Keeping it expressive with this little beach scene...

Gouache on mixed media paper, 4x6
SOLD

Monday, May 21, 2018

Palms of Pasadena - Gouache 5x7

Spotted these on our way back from a concert we took the kids to.  I loved the color of the mountains behind these palm trees. 

Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7
SOLD

Friday, May 18, 2018

Bird of Paradise - 6x8

Can't believe I've never painted one of these, it was super fun, and my daughter was so happy about the "bird a dice" when she got home from school. 

Oil on panel, 6x8 

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Carpinteria Clouds and Palms - 5x7

Part of my recent series of Carpinteria Bluffs paintings, I love the bluffs in the spring. 

Oil on panel, 5x7 
SOLD

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Spring Greens, Carpinteria - 12x12

Every year I fall in love with these first greens of spring.  I had to break out the cadmium green to capture this beautiful shade. 

Oil on panel, 12x12

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Streets of Rome - Gouache

Tried to stay fast and loose with this one, both because my toddler was waking up and because I didn't want to get hung up and all the details that go along with a subject like this. 

I am also trying auctions once again, it's turning out to be pretty complicated on my end, but let me know what you think! 

Gouache on mixed media paper, 5x7





Monday, May 14, 2018

Carpinteria Bluffs Path - 5x7

Thanks again for everyone who came out this weekend! It was a great turnout even though it was cold and cloudy. If you are new to my email list, welcome! I try to post a new painting every other day.  They'll either be available purchase in my etsy shop or this new auction site I'm trying out, but mostly they'll be available for your viewing pleasure right in your inbox :) 

Gouache on watercolor paper, 5x7 
SOLD

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Studio Tour 2018

Thank you to everyone who came out for the studio tour today! It was a great turnout, and seventeen paintings sold! Hooray!  BUT there are still some gems leftover, including these (which are my favorites and I’m surprised they’re still here!) So even though the map says I’m open Saturday only  I’ve decided to open up the studio again tomorrow (Sunday) from 11-1! If you saw something you liked but didn’t grab it, now you have a second chance! I’ll just be hanging out and painting so feel free to stop by 😊 Thanks again to everyone who came today, it was so fun! Happy Mother’s Day!